• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

First time to OC and need to ask a (probabaly stupid) question re: city parks

jackson

Hey everyone! I am new to handguns, very experienced with long guns, and have absolutely no experience in OC. I have been reading this forum, learning much, so thank you to all!

I joined today, and posted a recent telephone conversation made to Lebanon PD regarding OC. The officer acknowledged OC was legal, but any LEO I encountered may or may not have a problem with it.

I live near a city park that has wildlife (I have seen deer - always a doe or a fawn) and I have been warned of coyotes. In this particular park, owners frequently let their larger dogs off leash (especially two boxers and what appears to be a Jindo). Since I walk two Yorkshire Terriers, these larger dogs love to approach me...not always in a friendly fashion.

Because of the wildlife and the larger dogs, I want to OC while in the park for protection. I already carry pepper spray for jerk encounters.