• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Montana OC

M&P carrier

I am new to OC and am waiting on my CC. I am aware of almost all gun laws especially when it comes to CC. I am aware in some locations that you are not allowed to OC a loaded gun, magazine and cartridges must not be in the gun, while others locations do allow loaded OC. I do not know where Montana stands on this issue, the law does not (to the best of my knowledge) state anything about a loaded OC, which means that it is legal, but I may have missed something. Thanks for your replies!

J_dazzle23

From what I understand, I thought montana state law prohibited carry in banks. Could be wrong.

M&P carrier

Banks and any federal buildings, or any area used for federal purposes, but my concern is if I can have my side arm loaded while OC. Because i know that some places Prohibit this.

moonie

Banks and any federal buildings, or any area used for federal purposes, but my concern is if I can have my side arm loaded while OC. Because i know that some places Prohibit this.

That's a shame, perfectly legal to carry in Banks here in NC.

acmariner99

Places off limits to carry in Montana are governed by Montana Code 45-8-328 which says: