• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Carrying on a Float Trip?

Boba Fett

First point, this is not about legalities, I'll ask about that in my state forum.

I'm going on a canoe trip with my youth group that I'm an assistant youth pastor for. I have a Taurus 85 revolver and a Glock 19. I was wondering which one I should take (if I should even go armed) and how I should carry it, seeing as the possibility of it getting wet are high. I have a Serpa and a hybrid holster for the Glock, and a hybrid for the revolver. Should I even bother carrying? I haven't left my home unarmed in so long. lol

skidmark

Campaign Veteran
Zip-lock bags are your friend. Use one to hold several pre-oiled patches, and another to hold dry patches. Stick a cleaning rod in as well, so you do not end up leaving dirt, bark, or sap from the twig you used as a field expedient. Field strip, dry, and oil your handgun every night. Check it over first thing in the morning for condensation (which you will get as much of when you keep it in your sleeping bag with you as when you leave it outside your sleeping bag). Dry and oil as necessary. Yes, doing it both at night and in the morning is necessary if yu want to keep Mr. Rust away.