• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Casper Wyoming Tribune: Wyoming gun owners could violate federal law

PrayingForWar

Founder's Club Member

Rattrapper

It is my understanding that a federal officer (agent) would have to enforce that law. I know that when I was an Environmental Police Officer in MasSucKchusetts we had to be sworn in as Deputy Federal Officers, so that we could enforce Migratory bird laws and Lacey Act, As well as Commerical Marine Fisheries. Being such the state and local officers would have no primary jurisdiction, Couple that with the argument that the feds are using with Arizona, I don't see how they could have it both ways.

Rattrapper

I used to think so also...then i read the following line...

If you rob a bank...federal crime...and a local cop is outside, do you think he's just going to watch you leave because he's not a federal agent?

AHHH, Armed Robbery is also a crime against the state. Subject is arrested for state charges, then if the feds want they can also charge on the federal level.

That would be the difference here, If the state does not have the 1000ft. law then there is no state jurisdiction. Now if the subject were to violate state laws then the feds could ask for the info on the federal violation.

Last edited:

Aknazer