• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

New member / CCW class info request

PavePusher

imported post

I just registered here today, been reading for a few months. My name is Rob Ries, I've been in the USAF for 16 1/2 years. I'm currently stationed in England. I am a legal resident of Vermont, but most of my relatives live in New Hampshire and Utah.

I'm currently on leave, just got to SLC after a week in NH. While there, I applied for my NH non-resident pistol permit. I would like to get a Utah non-resident CCW permit as well. Can anyone recommend a good instructor/class in the SLC area? I called and left messages with several of the people on the BCI website listtoday, but of course don't knowanyone or their reputations. I have to head back to the U.K. on May 10th.

Also, can a non-resident buy a hangun in Utah without a permit? I'm in the market to upgrade my armory in anticipationbeing reassigned to the U.S. soon. And can anyone recommend a range with rental guns and basic skills classes in the SLC area? After several years in victim-ville, excuse me, England, my skills are pretty rusty with anything but an M-16. Thanks in advance for any info you can provide!

personaltrainer1987

imported post

PavePusher wrote: