• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

OC in New Mexico

opencarrier19

New member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
1
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Hi, I had a question. New Mexico Statute 30-7-2.2 states that you must be at least 19 years of age to possess a handgun. If you must be this minimum age to possess a handgun and an OC license in NM, does that mean that I may purchase a handgun at 19 years of age?
 

MAC702

Campaign Veteran
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
6,337
Location
Nevada
You will not be able to purchase one from a licensed dealer. His Federal Firearms License doesn't allow him to sell to you. But without another state law to the contrary, you may purchase one from a private party.

I'm not aware of an "OC license" in NM. Legal possessors may open carry, subject to location restrictions.
 
Last edited:
Top