• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Open carry In ventura County

ranger1202

imported post

Hello folks,

I am very new at this, but I do own a gun and feel I have a right to carry it for protection. I live in the city of Camarillo of Ventura County. Now of course all the Gang members are NOT concerned about any gun laws, but I am because being a law abiding citizen I will be picked on first. I just would like to know what are my rights in my area if anyone knows off hand..I would greatly appreciate some help. I can call my local Police dept, but they may not tell me the truth just to keep me from doing it??

Thanks

Mike

ConditionThree

State Pioneer
imported post

ranger1202 wrote:
I can call my local Police dept, but they may not tell me the truth just to keep me from doing it??

+1 for truth.

Calling the police and asking their opinion is going to net two likely results. 1) They will say anything (including lie) to encourage you not to even try it. 2) They will turn it into a reason to give you the third degree and interrogate you- attempting to determine your motive for doing such a thing.

If you want legal advice, seek out an attorney, not a police officer.

Decoligny

imported post