• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Psych survey help

Enigma007

Hi, I'm a psychology student at William Woods University in Missouri and am planning to create and administer a survey on people's emotional reactions to guns. I am a big believer in gun rights and am interested in finding out why many people perceive guns as harmful rather than protective. Specifically, I want to know why people still feel emotionally driven to promote "no gun zones" that leave important areas such as schools & universities vulnerable. I have not found many studies or surveys to guide me in this undergrad project. If anyone has any information that might help me, please pass it on. I don't even know where to start.

eye95

I don't know how useful to your study this will be, but I suspect that the popular culture is primarily responsible for the typical misinformed impression folks have of guns.

Combine an emotional reaction with factually-challenged, but commonly accepted, mythology that has been perpetuated by the popular culture and you end up with a person who thinks he has an informed opinion, but who instead has an uninformed, irrational fear.

Grapeshot

Legendary Warrior
People react as they are programed to do - they have been subjected to years of negative influences.

You could do worse than to start here: